The Real Thing

Levine: We keep inching closer and closer to “the real thing”.  How do you feel about performance art where this kind of physical extremity is part of the performance – Bob Flanagan, Chris Burden?

Christi: performance art is like “look at me, look at me do this painful thing!”  Whereas theatre is about “look at this thing in the world.”

By the end of Blasted, I was shut off by everything that’s happened.  The early parts of the play touched me deeply, but it wore me down, numbed me by the end.

Levine: where does this leave Simone Weil?

But were her efforts public or private?  Are they comparable to these kinds of performance?

Leave a Reply

